top of page
  • isabelvermeulenca

May 21st, 2022 - My last term at AUArts

A lot has happened over since I last wrote. "A lot" is kind of an understatement at this point really.


First things first. I have been writing my thesis, artist statement, annotated bibliography, and an English essay (I told my instructor, Dr. Frey, that I am planning on be turning my essay into a comic). I made some works too. Love Doll, Ghost (Parents House, Rape Couch), Questions About Trauma, some zines (Those Gentle Reminders, He Was Wrong, and Relationships are like a BUFFET (at least to me anyways)) Vulnerable Protégé, and finally Loving Protégé.


As for my mental health, it's been kind of on and off. After making Ghost, I had a breakdown. Too many things happened at once for me and exploded on Thursday morning. I won't go into too many details, but the gist of what happened was that my mind was processing and it invaded a part of my life which has been my refuge; my dreams. I went to counseling to talk more about it, and my suspicions were correct after 5 and a half years. I do have trauma and I need to work through it, but also be comfortable to properly distance myself from my work in order to talk about the art. I do get triggered by things and I realized that my work isn't finished when I can't even talk about it.


I have been thinking about my future this past month. Comics, teaching, cosplay, DnD, videogames, props and toys, and so much more. I realized that I can do so much, and now I have the time to work on things that I want to do. So expect a side website for my comics (both sfw and nsfw). I'm also gonna have to sell my work, I can't keep living with my art any longer. My friend, Angela mentioned that I could make and sell custom outfits on Kijiji or a website with my prints.


Grad is also coming up and I have been working on things. So expect things to be added on the site.


Thanks for taking the time to read my ramblings that definitely didn't take 11 days to do.

Talk to you later,

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Tentacles, Sex Dolls, and Plushies?

And how does this work in my art, exactly? Recently, I have been wanting to get back into tentacles as part of understanding more of myself. As well as expanding my research into topics and mediums I

Watching Venom

I was at my Lola's house over the weekend near the end of May (the 21st to be exact), and was browsing through Netflix and found Venom. When the trailer played, I remembered the slime, griminess, and

bottom of page