top of page
  • isabelvermeulenca

Watching Venom

I was at my Lola's house over the weekend near the end of May (the 21st to be exact), and was browsing through Netflix and found Venom. When the trailer played, I remembered the slime, griminess, and alien like tendrils (and the fact that Tom Hardy spends the whole movie looking like shit and never taking his clothes off like in any superhero movie). To be honest, I was impressed that he never did and I fully respected it.


But something else about the film inspired me, and had been on the tip of my tongue for the whole summer. And as of today, 22nd of August, I have found my answer.

As always, I began scrolling on my newsfeed on my phone and found a 'Top 15' list about symbiotic relationships in pop culture on Cracked.

And at this moment, I realized what I was looking for. Symbiotic relationships as part of my trauma experience.


After Googling 'Symbiotic relationships', I found a brief explanation of it from Merriam-Webster and Wikipedia. Where it's a conjoining of 2 biologically different species, where one or both species benefit from (here's the link to the Google search: https://g.co/kgs/A8DYNd)

In relation to my own traumatic experience, I found that creating a persona and replacing my ex with a monster helped me to negotiate my memories (to some degree of course). Obviously I'm still trying to figure out what I am thinking about, so further research and a mood map about this topic is in order.

4 views0 comments
bottom of page