top of page
  • isabelvermeulenca

January 2022 - Overall Review

Been busy with classes at AUArts this month and will be for the next few months (until around April, however, I will still be updating my site as I go along). I'm actually writing my proposal for my Sculpture thesis, but I have been learning a lot of things as of late.



Obviously, I've been negotiating with my core research themes (trauma, the tentacle, and narratives) and I've expanded these topics (mainly the tentacle) into other topics. The sex robot, the ocean preying on humans, and queer theory.


Yesterday, I went on a walk with my sister to the library to look for books about Gender Violence and Queer Theory. Unfortunately the library didn't have any in its catalogue and on the shelves (more like feminist theory and Queer history). I use Queer in a reclaimed manner as I am Demisexual and Genderfluid. But I came across a history book on Queer histories in Canada (it's called Out North), and there's some iconographies that I could try and incorporate with (1940's pin up women and the tentacles is an interesting thought).


I'll add some more of my research in a week or so, reading up on sexbots.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Tentacles, Sex Dolls, and Plushies?

And how does this work in my art, exactly? Recently, I have been wanting to get back into tentacles as part of understanding more of myself. As well as expanding my research into topics and mediums I

Watching Venom

I was at my Lola's house over the weekend near the end of May (the 21st to be exact), and was browsing through Netflix and found Venom. When the trailer played, I remembered the slime, griminess, and

May 21st, 2022 - My last term at AUArts

A lot has happened over since I last wrote. "A lot" is kind of an understatement at this point really. First things first. I have been writing my thesis, artist statement, annotated bibliography, and

bottom of page